How to Join
  About Us
  Test Match Breakfast, 11 December 2019
  Tour of Optus Stadium and Cocktail Party
  Test Match Breakfast, 13 December 2018
Vintage Cricketer of the Year
Each year Lord’s Taverners WA recognises a cricketer who has made an outstanding contribution to Western Australian cricket on the playing field and/or in cricket administration. Since the award was instituted in 1997, the following Western Australian cricketers have been honoured:

1997 Alan Edwards 2008
Kevin Gartrell 
1998 Wally Langdon 2009
Laurie Mayne 
1999 Barry Shepherd 2010
Len Pavy  
2000 Graham McKenzie 2011
Coralie Towers
2001 Ken Meuleman 2012
Tony Mann
2002 John Rutherford 2013
Keith Slater
2003 Keith Slater 2014
Bob Massie 
2004 Bert Rigg 2015
John Inverarity 
2005 Laurie Sawle

2006 Des Hoare

2007 Ian Brayshaw

John Inverarity, 2015 Vintage Cricketer, with the Honourable Ken Michael AC
John Inverarity
Vintage Cricketer of the Year, 2015

Throughout his long career, John Inverarity was an elegant right-hand batsman and left-arm orthodox spinner. However, it was as an outstanding captain, cricket theorist and leader of men that he really had a major impact on cricket in WA and Australia. Many were shocked when he was not appointed Australian Captain during the World Series Cricket schism and we are left to wonder at the difference he might have made during those years. John played six Test Matches for Australia from 1968 – 1972, including a memorable innings when he batted through the innings to be last man out on a sticky turner at The Oval in 1968. John also played in the infamous Headingly Test in 1972, where he took 3/26 from 33 overs on the "fuserium” wicket.

He debuted for Western Australia in 1962 and, in his five years as Captain from 1971/72 – 1978/79, WA won four Sheffield Shields. When his teaching career took him to Adelaide, John kept playing Shield cricket with South Australia from 1979 until 1985, winning a Sheffield Shield in 1981/82. By the time he retired in 1985, he had crept past Don Bradman’s Shield-record run aggregate. He was an inspirational coach with Kent in 1988 and again in 2001. In 2004, he resumed his coaching with Warwickshire. In 2011 John was appointed as Cricket Australia’s full-time national selector, a position he held until 2014 when his former team-mate Rod Marsh took over the reins.

John’s significant contribution to West Australian and Australian cricket over more than fifty years , and the positive influence he has had on generations of young cricketers, makes him a most worthy recipient of this year’s Lords Taverners WA Vintage Cricketer award.